I’m Going to Go with Passion

I’m having trouble concentrating on life because all I want to to do is write the story I have in my head right now. I can’t even focus on writing a post without getting distracted and wanting to write VIQ (I don’t want to share the whole title just yet, so just initials for now).

This isn’t what I usually write on here, but I’ve actually come to the conclusion that maybe this too will interest you. Because when you have a lot of pain, like I’ve had the past few weeks, you don’t get to do what you want to. You aren’t free. All I wanted to do was write but even typing hurt my hands too much. Now that I’ve regained functionality I have this drive inside me to let my creativity run abound and get this story from my head to the pages. It’s not a fire, even though some writers describe it that way, but the words are definitely burning to get out. I think I’d call it… Obsession? Urge? Passion. I’m going to go with passion. I have to admit, I’m really excited about VIQ. It’s different than what I usually write and all of the previous novel ideas I’ve had. It’s kind of a fun story that observes the way the whole world is so small these days, and how we can all be connected to the exact same thing despite the distance between us. It’s also a huge mash-up of all of my favorite daydreams to escape to. For once it feels nice not to write about the things that are sad and hard for me. Not that that is the only thing I write on here- there are plenty of things that have to do with normal life and happier topics. But still, in this novel, no one is sick and I like that.

So here’s to VIQ and huge breakthroughs,

Ella

Song Quote:

If you could read my mind, love, what a tale my thoughts could tell. -If You Could Read My Mind, Gordon Lightfoot Do you feel this passion too?

6 comments on “I’m Going to Go with Passion

  1. Elouise says:

    Hi, Ella. I love your name. And your writing. You’re very articulate and aware of reality. Following your heart is never a bad thing to do. I can’t imagine myself in your shoes, but I do know the feeling of having to get things out of me and into written form. Your blog is a witness to your gift! Thanks for inviting us along.
    Elouise

    Like

  2. EnspiyrdLife says:

    I can relate to your passion and pain completely as I so often have the same issue. I want to paint and hike and ride my bicycle but all too often I end up spending the day in bed. I’m glad that you are feeling well enough to write for now.

    *Have you ever tried any of the computer programs that allow you to speak into a devise and the words are typed for you? I know its not the same feel of putting pen to paper but maybe it would work for you.

    Like

  3. Yes, all the time. Go for it!

    Like

  4. azingsadain says:

    Spot on! We have the same passion. Right now trying to study, but all I could think of is my stories. It’s like I just want to lock myself up in the room and type away. I’ve got an idea about my novel. But if I sit and type an idea that is not yet well thought out, I end up wasting my time. So when I feel itchy to write, instead I write about the characters and draw diagrams of the story. I even drew a map of where the adventures would take place and also a family/relationship tree. It helps visualizing the story. It also satisfy the itch of jumping into a story. Good luck with your novel. Keep us posted ;) I’m also writing one, but this is my first! Very excited.

    Like

  5. I definitely feel a passion to paint. I can’t not paint. If I don’t get to paint enough, I feel “off”. Sorry about the pain you’ve been having.

    Like

  6. L.S. Engler says:

    I totally get this passion. I have so many stories in my head, and there are times when all I want to do is hurry and get them out to the world. Congrats on a new, exciting project! I hope it turns out well for you. Sometimes, something new is all we need to find a new energy and drive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

